Beyoncé’s “‘Self-Titled’ Part 5. Honesty”: Star Talks Sexy “Rocket,” Justin Timberlake Bows Down

image

“Now I’m in my 30s, and those children that grew up listening to me have grown up, and I always felt like it was my responsibility to be aware of kids and their parents and all these generations,” the platinum-selling superstar muses in “Self-Titled Part 5. Honesty,” the latest installment, exclusively obtained by E! News, of her documentary chronicling the making of her pioneering Beyoncé .
“And I felt like, in a sense, I could not express everything,” she continues, radiant in a plain white T-shirt and jean shorts. “I’ve done so many things in my life, in my career, that I feel like at this point I’ve earned the right to be me and to express any and every side of myself.”
Case in point: The black and white video for “Rocket,” in which a lingerie-clad Bey most certainly comes into her own.
“What I love about this song is, it takes you through this journey,” she says over clips of the sexy video. “You’re flirting and you’re talking all of your arrogant s–t. Then you climax, and then you have your cigarette.”
But while “Rocket” seems to be about one thing, “this song actually is about singing from the heart, and harmonies and adlibs and arrangement,” Beyoncé says.
“One of the things I love about this project,” she continues, as the featurette cuts to her working at the piano, “how willing all these incredible artists were to write together. Justin Timberlake, Miguel and myself all worked together to write ‘Rocket.'”

Leave a Reply

