Angelina Jolie Has Surgery To Remove Ovaries And Fallopian Tube

image

Angelina Jolie had surgery last week to remove her ovaries and fallopian tube, two years after undergoing a preventative double mastectomy.
Jolie reveals the news in a guest column for the New York Times , much like she did for her prior operation in 2013, when genetic testing indicated she was at high risk of developing breast cancer because she possessed the mutated BRCA1 gene. The actress writes that she was “planning this for some time,” but thought she had “months to make the date” before getting some suspect test results two weeks ago. Jolie’s blood tests revealed some of her inflammatory markers were elevated, and she was urged to see a surgeon “immediately.” She continues:
“I went through what I imagine thousands of other women have felt. I told myself to stay calm, to be strong, and that I had no reason to think I wouldn’t live to see my children grow up and to meet my grandchildren. I called my husband [Brad Pitt] in France, who was on a plane within hours. The beautiful thing about such moments in life is that there is so much clarity. You know what you live for and what matters. It is polarizing, and it is peaceful.
That same day I went to see the surgeon, who had treated my mother. I last saw her the day my mother passed away, and she teared up when she saw me: ‘You look just like her.’ I broke down. But we smiled at each other and agreed we were there to deal with any problem, so ‘let’s get on with it.’”

Leave a Reply

