Daily Archives: October 23, 2013

Robin Thicke has been confirmed for the 2013 MTV European Music Awards

image

The American musician will take to the stage at the Ziggo Dome in Amsterdam on November 10.
Robin is also nominated for four accolades on the night, including Best Song and Best Video for Blurred Lines.
He has already spoken out about how thrilled he is to sing at the event and to be up for several awards.
“I am grateful and excited to be nominated and performing at this year’s EMAs. I know it will be an amazing night!” he gushed in a statement.
Also set to perform are Imagine Dragons and Snoop Dogg, who will be collaborating with fellow musician Afrojack at a nightclub in the city.
This performance will mark Snoop’s return to the EMAs after hosting it in 2007.
Afrojack – who is nominated in the Best Electronic and Best Dutch Act categories – shared his excitement ahead of the ceremony.
“It’s really cool to be nominated for two EMAs and perform at the EMAs! The EMAs are one of my favourite award shows and the fact they’re happening in Amsterdam makes it even more special,” he said. “Whatever happens, I feel fortunate to be nominated and I can’t even explain how dope it is to have my new track, The Spark, as the official theme song to the EMAs!”
The new acts will join already confirmed performances by Miley Cyrus, Katy Perry and The Killers.
Ellie Goulding, Iggy Azalea, Carice van Houten, Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) and Colton Haynes will also be involved with the ceremony, which Ariana Grande will be covering backstage. The evening’s MC will be LMFAO’s Red Foo.

Mariah Carey reaches out to fans directly

image

Mariah Carey has admitted releasing music online means she can interact directly with her fans.
The singing superstar took the advice of good friend Jermaine Dupri, who she has a strong working relationship with, to debut music on the internet.
43-year-old Mariah’s latest song will be released on November 11, via the singer’s Facebook page.
“I think now everybody feels famous because of the Internet but [it’s good] for me to be a regular person and reach my fans directly. I think it’s a genius concept.
“Honestly, interacting directly with your fans is the best thing you can do because they are the ones who keep you where you are.
Longevity is something that not everybody can have,” she told MTV
News.
41-year-old Jermaine has collaborated with Mariah on some of her biggest hits including Always Be My Baby and Sweetheart, and earlier this summer he took a managerial role in her team.
Releasing music via social media was one of his first executive decisions, an idea Mariah jumped at.
‘Jermaine’s concept was great because it was something different than I’d done previously, and we needed to reach all of my fans.
“Even some of the biggest new stars that have become meteorites over the past couple of years, you see them flailing and you wonder why. And maybe it’s because they didn’t have that connections with their fans,’ she explained.
Jermaine established his own record label So So Def Recordings in 1993 and has been involved in the careers of some of the biggest names in music.
He signed Lil Bow Wow to the label in 1998, the same year he was involved in the release of Destiny Child’s debut album.
“The internet has made the world flat, so when you have a person like Mariah whose fan base goes from here to other end of the world, why not share [the music] with everyone at once?” Jermaine said.

Kelly Rowland’s dad pleas for reunion

image

Kelly Rowland’s father fears time could be running out for a reunion with the singer.
Christopher Lovett and his family had a rocky past and he claims Kelly’s mother Doris left him and took their daughter when she was just seven.
He has not seen the former Destiny’s Child star since, but is hopeful they will get a chance to meet sooner rather than later.
‘So many previous years have passed and I’m getting old,’ the 67-year-old told US Star magazine. ‘I just pray she comes back into my life before it’s too late.’
Christopher also spoke about turning to drink in the past.
He admits he often shouted at Doris in front of Kelly before she left.
‘I couldn’t control it,’ he claimed.
‘I hoped I could make it up to her. But I’m still waiting for that day.’
The regretful father has been trying to contact Kelly for many years.
He also passed on a message to her, saying: “I love you with all my heart.”
‘Whenever [Destiny’s Child] was on the cover of a magazine, I would call and beg them to tell her I was looking for her,’ he said.
Christopher previously appealed for Kelly to reach out to him in 2011.
The star has also spoken about her father but gave no indication she was ready to see him.
‘I don’t know where he is but I hope he’s not dead. That would break my heart,” she previously said.
‘I remember my dad being drunk and aggressive towards my mom but not me. I don’t know if he knows who I am or what I’ve done. He must be hiding under a rock if he doesn’t.’

Pearl Jam debut at No.1 in USA

image

Pearl Jam had an easy debut on the US chart this week debuting at number one with ‘Lightning Bolt’. Paul McCartney ‘New’ came in at number 3.
‘Lightning Bolt’ shifted 170,000 units for Pearl Jam while ‘New’ sold around 67,000 units, an impressive debut for the former Beatle.
‘New’ did well in the UK as well for Sir Paul, debuting at no. 3 in England but failed miserably in Australia missing the Top 20 with 1290 sales. Elton John ‘The Diving Board’ sold equally disappointing figures in Australia compared to the USA and UK where it is still a Top 30 hit album after 5 weeks but completely out of the Australian Top 100 with less than 200 sales last week.
Other USA Top 10 debuts this week in America are Scotty McCreedy ‘See You Tonight’, Willie Nelson ‘To All The Girls’ and Head and the Heart ‘Let’s Be Still’.
Debuting in the US Top 20 this week are Gavin DeGraw ‘Make A Move’, Trivium ‘Vengeance Falls’ and Chase Rice with ‘Ready Set Roll’.

Katy Perry and John Mayer ‘headed for marriage’

image

Katy Perry and John Mayer reportedly ‘realise they must be together’ forever.
The musicians have had an on-off relationship since last year, but the pair seem happier than ever since reconciling in July.
It is now rumoured that their engagement is imminent.
“Everyone knows it’s just a question of when John will propose,” a source tells Us Weekly magazine.
“[Katy and John] realise they must be together. They Skype and text all day. John always checks in before bed!”
John took Katy to his brother Carl’s wedding last week at New York’s Mamaroneck Beach and Yacht Club.
John was best man and superstar Katy was reportedly very discreet throughout the nuptials.
‘They were very polite and down-to earth and didn’t want to take away from the bride and groom’s day,’ a source told Page Six. ‘Katy stayed behind the scenes and politely turned down photos. It was a beautiful ceremony on the water.’
During John and Katy’s three-month separation earlier this year, she admitted she was still in love with the musician.
Calling him a ‘tortured soul,’ she said she was attracted to ‘broken birds.’
“No, I was madly in love with him,” she told the US edition of Vogue.
“I still am madly in love with him. All I can say about the relationship is that he’s got a beautiful mind. Beautiful mind, tortured soul. I do have to figure out why I’m attracted to these broken birds.”

Kanye West reportedly ‘loves Kim Kardashian too much’ to make her sign a prenuptial agreement

image

The rapper proposed to Kim as a surprise on her 33rd birthday. And Kanye is said to be so happy with his new bride-to-be, he doesn’t want to spoil their love with paperwork.
‘Kanye’s in love with Kim to the point of infatuation. It’s scary because the love is so powerful, Kanye doesn’t even want to have a prenup,’ a source told Hollywood Life. ‘He thinks it’s tacky and he doesn’t want to offend Kim or make anything seem awkward. He loves Kim too much for that to even cross his mind.
‘He thinks of his money and his accomplishments and hers and he wants to share them with her – no strings attached.’
One of Kanye’s most popular songs is the track Gold Digger, in which he raps about the importance of prenuptial agreements in marriages. But the 36-year-old is reportedly not following his own advice. Instead, the website alleges he considers all his belongings as Kim’s property too.
‘Kanye’s got more money than he knows what to do with – so does Kim,’ the source continues. ‘He doesn’t care about that. If he died tomorrow, everything he has is in Kim and Nori’s name. There will be no prenup. It’s all about love, nothing else matters.’
Kanye also doesn’t seem bothered by the fact this is Kim’s third marriage. He is allegedly so glad they are engaged, he would do anything for her. And having baby daughter North West is a huge source of happiness for the couple.
‘Kanye wanted to make Kim’s birthday something she would never forget,’ the source explained. ‘Kim is on cloud nine and couldn’t have asked for anything more on her day. She is in a great place with her child healthy and happy, and now getting engaged seals the deal on her happiness.
‘When it comes to Kanye and marrying him, her thoughts are, ‘Three’s a charm.”

In Support of GAY RIGHTS, We Highlight Hollywood’s Gay Power Couples

image

Some of Hollywood’s strongest unions are also the industry’s most powerful: Ellen DeGeneres and Portia de Rossi, Elton John and David Furnish, Neil Patrick Harris and David Burtka are
redefining what it means to be out and proud in Tinsel town.

image

DeGeneres (who publicly came out on the cover of Time in 1997) wed de Rossi in August 2008, following the May 2008 California Supreme Court ruling that same sex couples have the right to
marry.

image

Glee: Blaine Anderson ( Darren Criss) and Kurt Hummel ( Chris Colfer) began dating in season 2 of the Fox hit. The New York Post called the high school students “one of the most beloved TV couples of the millennium.”

Jennifer Lawrence Looks Flawless Without Much Makeup in New Menswear-Inspired Dior Campaign

image

Natural beauty! Jennifer Lawrence looks gorgeous and flawless in new campaign photos for Dior. The 23-year-old actress’ stunning new photo shoot is featured in the fall-winter issue of Dior magazine.
In the black-and-white photos, shot by photographer Mikael Jansson, Lawrence wears minimal makeup and has her tousled hair pulled back into an updo. The Hunger Games actress styles fitted menswear-inspired blazers, trousers and winter coats. She also shows off her long legs in another shot while slouching down in a chair wearing only a coat.
Lawrence hasn’t always been confident in her skin and recently shared in the November issue of Harper’s Bazaar U.K. that she was criticized for her weight when she was younger. “I was young. It was just the kind of s–t that actresses have to go through. Somebody told me I was fat, that I was going to get fired if I didn’t lose a certain amount of weight,” she shared. “They brought in pictures of me where I was basically naked, and told me to use them as motivation for my diet.”
Even though she’s an Oscar-winning actress now, Lawrence told the magazine that the remarks still hurt her — but she’s finally able to stand up for herself.

Johnny Weir Retiring From Figure Skating, Corresponding for Sochi Olympics Despite Russia’s Anti-Gay Laws

image

After 17 years of figure skating, Johnny Weir is retiring.
The 29-year-old athlete officially announced his retirement on the TODAY show Wednesday, Oct. 23, and shared his plans to work with NBC at the 2014 Sochi Olympics.
“It is surreal writing about my career as if it had happened to someone else and to actually write the words, ‘I am retiring from competitive figure skating,’
Weir said in a statement to Us Weekly. “I have cried my way through writing this entire column not because I am sad, or that I’ll miss training or falling or being so nervous I thought my head would explode, or starving or the glory of victory or the agony of defeat, I cry because of the memories that have shaped my life.”
“At twenty-nine, it is odd to explain to the average Joe that I am retiring. While my retirement surely isn’t a shock to the skating world, I have been able to become a sort of face for my sport to people who rarely watch it, and I always quickly follow up the statement of ‘I’m retiring from competition’ with the truth that I will continue to skate and perform as long as my body will allow me and that I pass my presence in the competitive ranks on to some genius upstart, the youth that keeps the Olympics and sports alive,” he explained. “While I am not old, part of being a champion is knowing when your
time is up.”
Weir has had many accomplishments throughout his career. He is the 2008 World bronze medalist, a two-time Grand Prix Final bronze medalist, the 2001 World Junior Champion and three-time U.S. national champion.
“Seventeen years ago, it’s hard to say exactly how, but I knew my life would have some magic, and I have figure skating to thank for that,” he said in his statement. “I wish for everyone in this world to have even one moment of finding their bliss and chasing after it at all costs and I pray that you are lucky enough to even have two of those moments, because they are fleeting and sometimes unappreciated.”
During his appearance on the TODAY show, Matt Lauer and Savannah Guthrie welcomed Weir to their news team and asked how he, as an openly gay man, felt about Russia’s anti-gay laws.
“I’m a gay American and I married into a Russian family,” he said of his 2011 civil ceremony to Victor Voronov. “While this law is a terrible thing that you can’t
be gay publicly in Russia . . . I plan to be there and not be afraid. Our presence is needed.”

Kim Kardashian Resurfaces After Kanye West Engagement in Fur Jacket, Sexy Outfit

image

It’s the future Mrs. Kanye West! Kim Kardashian emerged from her San Francisco hotel on Tuesday, Oct. 22 — the day after love Kanye West gave her the biggest, best birthday surprise ever, proposing to her at the AT&T Stadium with 50 friends cheering them on. The third-time bride-to-be looked ultra glamorous in an expensive-looking fur coat and a tight ensemble that emphasized her skinny, curvaceous post-baby figure: a high-waisted pencil skirt and cleavage-enhancing camisole top, plus gold heels.
Now 33, the reality star wore her blonde locks loose and tried out a natural makeup look with a nude lip. At her side was mom Kris Jenner, Kim’s date for West’s San Jose concert that evening. She and Kris, 57, were spotted in the audience during the energetic show, part of West’s new Yeezus tour.
As previously reported, West pulled off a massive, top-secret plan to pop the question to his baby mama at the stadium on Monday evening — complete with a live orchestra, catering, a JumboTron proposal and more.